Swedish Winter Grand Prix

Swedish Winter Grand Prix, February 23, 1931

Held in 1931 for the first time, the Winter Grand Prix was run over a 30-mile circuit at Raemshyltan on 23 February. The circuit, which had to be covered seven times, included the icy surface of the Ramen Lake and roads covered with snow. There were twenty-five entries, seventeen of which were American cars, including three Fords. Karl Ebb, on an Auburn, held the lead almost from start to finish for the full distance of 210 miles, and won at an average speed of 43.8 m.p.h. The second was J. Ramsey (Chrysler), the third was Bergstrom (Chrysler) and the fourth was Harry Larsson (Ford).